E-Prime AutoUpdate introduces the ability for E-Studio to check the web for updates to the E-Prime software. When E-Prime AutoUpdate checks for updates, it requires certain information to be sent about the E-Prime software and machine to be able to determine if an update to the system is necessary. This topic describes what information is sent during and E-Prime AutoUpdate query to the web, how it is sent, why it is sent, and what options are available to customize the information sent to E-Prime AutoUpdate.
Why is the information necessary to be sent to E-Prime AutoUpdate?
The primary reason is to provide the most personalized results for your specific machine. For example, if an update is specific to a patch with Windows ME and your lab machines are running Windows XP, then the update is not critical for your lab and you would not be prompted to obtain it. The version of the currently installed system is sent, so if you have the most recent version, then you would not be prompted to obtain a version you already have. If something is found specific to your machine configuration, it is most beneficial to update the machine(s) in which the updates are necessary.
How is the information sent to E-Prime AutoUpdate? Is E-Prime AutoUpdate secure?
E-Prime AutoUpdate uses the HTTPS secure protocol to send the information to the AutoUpdate web services. This secure protocol uses the exact security certificate technology used in online banking and order processing. The Psychology Software Tools SSL certificates are issued by Thawte and use the best encryption technologies allowed by law.
Are any personal information about me or my machine being sent to E-Prime AutoUpdate?
Although it is possible that some personal identifying information can be sent to E-Prime AutoUpdate, the information is sent via the most secure methods available currently under law.
In no way does E-Prime AutoUpdate purposely search for items such as bank information, credit card numbers, e-mail address, etc. The main area where personal information is likely to be sent is when the "Send Machine Configuration Details When Querying for updates" option is selected. When sending the machine configuration details, the PST-specific branches of the registry are sent and would include the name/institution used when E-Prime was installed. Please see the sections below on the information that is collected and how it possibly could contain personal information.
What information is sent when the "Routinely check for updates to E-Prime on the web when they become available" is checked?
Your E-Prime serial number. For example, 0000000-EP100-XXXXXXXX
The version of E-Prime installed. For example, 22.214.171.1244.
What information is sent when the "Send Machine Configuration Details When Querying for updates" is checked?
The items sent when the "Send Machine Configuration Details When Querying for updates" option is selected is a subset of what has historically been sent when generating a PST Tech Info report to E-Prime Web Support. The following table lists the items sent to tailor the E-Prime AutoUpdate query to the specific machine.
|The manufacturer and model of the machine||Dell 8400|
|The operating system information||Windows XP Service Pack 2 Build 2086|
|CPU information||Intel XEON 3.0GHZ|
|Memory Information||2.0GB System Memory|
|DirectX Information||Verbose Description about Display/Sound adapters in machine with information about capabilities of adapters, driver file/date|
|Registry Information||HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Psychology Software ToolsHKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Psychology Software Tools|
|File Information||C:\Program Files\PST file versions/dates|
I don't want any information sent, how can I disable E-Prime AutoUpdate?
Under the Tools...Options menu, simply uncheck the "Routinely check for updates to E-Prime on the web when they become available" option. Upon first run of E-Studio after E-Prime is installed, E-Prime AutoUpdate will prompt to turn on/off E-Prime AutoUpdate.
I am unable to change the settings to E-Prime AutoUpdate.
If the options to E-Prime AutoUpdate are disabled or greyed out, then this is a result to your network administrator taking action to enable/disable E-Prime AutoUpdate for your machine. Please contact E-Prime Technical Support or your network administrator if you feel this is not reflective of your network policies. In some instances outside of the standard installation of E-Prime, your license agreement will indicate that certain portions of E-Prime AutoUpdate are required.
This topic applies to: